Skip to content

Sharing and collaborate with nextcloud #64

Open

Description

@dairaine

Hi, this tool integrated in Nextcloud naturally allows you to share mindmaps between several people. If the write permission is set, each person can edit the mindmap at the same time. This is where data loss problems can occur if different users make changes in parallel.

There does not seem to be a lock system to avoid this type of problem. Here are some ideas to solve the problem more or less well:

  • be notified that another user is modifying the document
  • block writing to the first editor with this right, the others cannot save their possible modification
  • have frequent automatic recharging for users
  • be able to ask/give a hand to one of the collaborators
  • be able to work in parallel on the document, the lock can be at a node or branch

Many thanks for this great tool. LD.

Activity

  1. admorgan commented on Jan 27, 2020

    @admorgan

    Nextcloud 18 has this feature, unfortunately I am not able to get this app to work with 18.

  2. Sicoval31 commented on Mar 10, 2020

    @Sicoval31

    And a real collaborative work, like onlyoffice provide one.
    so each other can see the modification made at the same time (but locking the object modifying)

  3. ACTom commented on Mar 10, 2020

    @ACTom
    Collaborator
  4. scroom commented on Mar 22, 2020

    @scroom

    The situation now is quite problematic because users don't think about the fact, that it might be possible that someone else is working as well on the same mindmap. Data-loss can occur quite easy.

  5. HonkXL commented on Apr 21, 2020

    @HonkXL

    This point is a real problem! We had very frequently the situation of dataloss because of parallel work on the same mindmap.
    I think there are 2 possible solutions for this:

    • real collaboration like in OnlyOffice
    • locking the mindmap for the first user and showing the second user "file is open for editing at user xyz".
  6. fxmw11 commented on Jun 8, 2020

    @fxmw11
    Contributor

    Maybe #120 is a temporary solution until real collaboration is implemented:
    Everbody can view a shared file, but editing simultanously is not possible (the first save always wins, others need to discard their changes and restart editing from the updated version)
    In order to minimize data loss and frustration it might be a good idea to have autosave always turned on :)

  7. HonkXL commented on Jan 15, 2021

    @HonkXL

    The problem I see on #120 is, that user one makes changes and saves them, and user 2 can make changes, too and when he tries to saves, he just get a message that an other user made changes. But he maybe spent a lot of work to do this changes. So this is no universal solution to fix this.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    enhancementNew feature or request

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions